Christmas through the Eyes of a Child

The 2016 Celebration will be at 2:00 on December 11th, at the Jenny Wiley Convention Center.

CHRISTMAS THROUGH THE EYES OF A CHILD
Christmas Through the Eyes of a Child!  is a community partnership program with WMDJ 100.1 FM radio and McDonald's. Every K-12 student is invited to participate across the district.  Students submit writing entries to a writing prompt or an idea of their own. Each school selects 20 winners and these 20 winners are judged by community judges to select the 12 winners who will read on the WMDJ 100.1 FM, and the overall grade level winners. Students go to WMDJ 100.1 FM radio and tape their selections.  Then, each day in December a school and the student winners are  featured on the radio.  Also, a district celebration is culmination event for this literacy program.

OASIS AWARD Winner - STATE RECOGNITION 2010
The OASIS AWARD was given by the Kentucky School Board's Association and the Kentucky Public Relations Association to recognize Christmas Through the Eyes of a Child asa Special Events program fostering the best in school communicationsefforts. Christmas through the Eyes of a Child is a partnership betweenFloyd County Schools, WMDJ FM 100.1 and McDonalds.  

Department Contacts

Adams Middle, Stephanie Marsillett

Email:  stephanie.marsillett@floyd.kyschools.us

Allen Central High, Kayla McKinney
Email:  kayla.moore@floyd.kyschools.us

Allen Central Middle, Angela Mullins
Email:  angela.mullins@floyd.kyschools.us

‚ÄčAllen Elementary, Lisa Childers
Email:  lisa.childers@floyd.kyschools.us

Betsy Layne Elementary, Ebony Doderer
Email:  ebony.doderer@floyd.kyschools.us

Betsy Layne High, Patricia Hackworth
Email:  patricia.hackworth@floyd.kyschools.us

District Coordinator, Courtney DeRossett
Business:  (606)886-2354
Mobile:  Ext. 5505
Email:  courtney.derossett@floyd.kyschools.us

Duff Elementary, Melanie Turner
Email:  melanie.turner@floyd.kyschools.us

May Valley Elementary, Jessica Flannery
Email:  jessica.newsome@floyd.kyschools.us

McDowell Elementary, Cindy Osborne
Email:  cindy.osborne@floyd.kyschools.us

Osborne Elementary, Ashley Burke
Email:  ashley.burke@floyd.kyschools.us

Prestonsburg Elementary, Jennifer Stewart & Robin Nairn
Email:  robin.nairn@floyd.kyschools.us

Prestonsburg High, Tara Isaac
Email:  tara.isaac@floyd.kyschools.us

South Floyd School, Kim Stumbo
Email:  kim.stumbo@floyd.kyschools.us

Stumbo Elementary, Rhonda Blanton
Email:  rhonda.blanton@floyd.kyschools.us

 

/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */