Sixth Grade Showcase

Sixth Grade Showcase
Posted on 12/12/2018
This is the image for the news article titled Sixth Grade Showcase

Superintendent Danny Adkins announces the results for students in Floyd County Schools who competed in the KAAC 6th Grade Showcase for Sections 36 and 37 Saturday, December 1st hosted by Porter Elementary and Valley Elementary. Participating schools for Section 36 included Central Elementary, Flat Gap Elementary, Highland Elementary, John M. Stumbo Elementary, Paintsville Elementary, Porter Elementary and W.R. Castle Elementary. Participating schools for Section 37 included Belfry Middle, Duff-Allen Central Elementary, James D. Adams Middle, Johns Creek School, Phelps Elementary, Pikeville, South Floyd Elementary and Valley Elementary.


Adkins comments, “Congratulations to our 6th grade students and teams on placing in this Governor’s Cup event! Congratulations Brock Horne from DACE, first place in Arts & Humanities and Ethan Walls from AMS, first place in science! Our Floyd County team is also proud of Duff-Allen Central Elementary on placing third in Quick Recall and fourth overall!”


Adkins extended an invitation saying, “We hope to see everyone out supporting our academic team students at our upcoming Governor’s Cup events after the first of the year. Each level has district and regional competitions and the middle and high school students and teams can advance to state competition. These begin mid-January.”



Final Standings:     4th Duff-Allen Central ES                6th Adams MS              8th South Floyd ES

Quick Recall:         3rd Duff-Allen Central ES                5th South Floyd ES        5th Adams MS



English Composition

Arts & Humanities

Language Arts

2nd Taylor Stumbo, SFES

1st Brock Horne, DACE

5th Ethan Walls, AMS

4th Grace Miller, AMS

4th Sara Springer, AMS







Social Studies

4th Zachary Goble, DACE

1st Ethan Walls, AMS

2nd Emery Bartrum, DACE


5th Madison Sullivan, SFES




sh sh  sh
       Taylor Stumbo                   Grace Miller                      Zachary Goble

sh sh sh
             Brock Horne                              Sara Springer               Emery Bartrum

sh sh
      Ethan Walls                     Madison Sullivan
/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */