FCS Students on the Road to Rupp

FCS Students on the Road to Rupp
Posted on 01/25/2019
This is the image for the news article titled FCS Students on the Road to Rupp

Superintendent Danny Adkins announces that ten schools are advancing to Rupp Arena for the State Student Technology Leadership Program on April 18, 2019. Students competed in Regional STLP Competition at the East Kentucky EXPO Center Wednesday, January 23.


Adkins comments, “Let me begin by saying that Eastern Kentucky was well represented at regional competition. We have some amazing kids in our region and our Floyd County Schools students are simply outstanding! We have students from ten schools going on to state competition. There are twenty-three groups of students, two individuals and one young lady, Hailey B. Little from DACE, will be serving on the Kentucky STLP Media Arts Team!”


Adkins continues, “Our kids have projects to help combat hunger in our communities, help keep children in car seats safe, help with school safety to name a few. They are tutoring others in school subjects and teaching each other how to use animation. They are raising awareness about abandoned animals, trying to bring jobs here, communicating better with parents and the student body at their schools and more. One group has a robot that will help clean up. And that’s not all the projects.”


Superintendent Adkins ended his comments saying, “Congratulations to our students for advancing to state and thank you to our STLP coordinators, other teachers and parents who have steadfastly supported these kids. I can honestly say that I can’t wait to see how they do at state competition. As you know, we had a state winner last year from Allen Elementary and our students know that they can get there too. These school teams are stepping up their game.”




Allen Elementary: Mike Bell, coordinator

  • Eagle Radio: Shian Crum, Sidney Chaffins, Alyson Kilburn, Aireca Salisbury, Jayden Hampton, Haley Endicott, Kylie Owsley, Gretchen Samons, Jada Reynolds
  • AES Cares: Ruthie Dillion, Courtney Meadows, Coresha Smith, Natalie Garrett, Hannah Vanhoose, Kaylee Goble, Angelanna Burchett, Chris Bentley, Andrew McKinney, Hannah Philpot, Anna Blair, Madison Jarrell, Allyssa Stevenson, Jacob Roberts, Tiffany Tackett, Kate Moon, Brendon Howard, Ashley Kilburn, Harley Burchett, Hannah Wakeland, Lexi Mullins, Rheagen Music, Abigail Goble, Kalia Wright
  • Safe Schools: Protecting Our Students: Jeremiah Ratliff, Jagger Bevins, Landon Chaffins, Blake Blackburn, Austin Webb, Jacob Garrett, Peyton Peters
  • Forget Me Not: Bradley Jervis, Tanner Skeens, Lexi Blair, Ethan McIntosh, Justin Akers, Timothy Mahan, Peyton Senters, Keegan Farley, Reese Music


Betsy Layne High School: Sandy Mims, coordinator

  • Beyond Tutors: Justin Case
  • 3-D Hologram: Landon Howard, Bretton Jervis, Chris Brashear, Jonah Bell
  • Bobcat Broadcast: Andrea Conley, Melissa Meade, Nate Mims


Duff-Allen Central Elementary: Cecilia Prater, coordinator

  • N.I.H.L.:What You Need to Know: Brooklyn Lewis, Lara Beth Hall, Charles Potter, Landon Samons
  • Our School Year is Booked: Gracie McDavid, Jada Wright, Megan Bentley, Sara Brown
  • Never too Young to Learn the Rules of the Road: Riley Hicks, Emily Johnson, Karli Rose, Taylor Hamilton
  • Essentials for Santa: Todd Prater, Brylie Pennington, Alexa Morris, and Koen Reeves
  • Hailey B. Little: Selected as member of the Kentucky STLP Media Arts Team


 Floyd Central High School: CaSandra Fulks, coordinator

  • Broaden Your Horizon: Belle Stewart, Savanna Price, Chloe Watson, Sahara Little, Reece Terry, Kelli Thomas, Alyssa Tackett
  • JAGS Broadcast: Madison Thornsberry, Taylor Burke, Allison Akers, Chanda Caudill
  • Jacob's Ladder: Caroline Parsons, Chloe Howell, Brooklyn Moore, Emily Case
  • STEM Nation: Lindsay Caudill, Lakayla Conn, Jhaughanessy Morris, Destiny Harris


James D. Adams Middle School: Lisa Blankenship, coordinator

  • Virtual Reality in a Real Classroom: Madison Wilcox, Tiffany Risner, Abby Burchett, Hannah Blankenship, Allyson Springer
  • Live Production: Reece Hamilton


John M Stumbo Elementary: Deborah Bentley, coordinator

  • Furry Friend Find: Sophie Slone, Majaia Yates, Morgan Newsome, Kaylee Hayden
  • Tech Squad: Cory Bentley, Keith Rowe, Isaiah Howell, Dalton Hamilton


May Valley Elementary: Jamie Lawson, coordinator

  • May Valley Elementary Happenings: Whitley Hall, Miles Hutchinson, Madison Justice, Aubree Shelton
  • Save a Fur Friend (Donating to Dumas): Chloe Howard, Mileigh Kilburn, Alaina Morris, Lydia Wallace, Cheyenne Flannery


Prestonsburg Elementary: Bobby Hackworth, coordinator

  • The Mouse:Kaden Blackburn, Preston Robinson, Isaac Stewart, Ally Hamilton, Aidan Mynhier


Prestonsburg High School: Kenneth Bradley, coordinator

  • Digital Trophy Case: John Rose, Dalton Bentley, Morgan Spears, Isaac Goble, Jonah Tackett


South Floyd Elementary: Alisa Howell and Justin Holbrook, coordinators

  • Raider Broadcasting: Courtney Moore, Madison Little, Riley Jo Compton, Taylor Allen
  • Be a Buddy, Not a Bully: JuliOna Holbrook, Rylee Daniels, Sofiya Cook, Tori Bradford


/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */