99th Student Graduates FCECA

99th Student Graduates FCECA
Posted on 05/17/2019
This is the image for the news article titled 99th Student Graduates FCECA

Superintendent Danny Adkins announces that the 99th high school student is graduating with an Associate’s degree through the Floyd County Early College Academy.


Superintendent Adkins commented, “We want to congratulate these 17 students for this amazing accomplishment. Graduating with an Associate’s degree before they officially graduate from high school isn’t something I would have thought possible when I was in school and that’s why this incredible group of students is a great example of the importance of our school district having opportunities for students as a priority.”


The Floyd County Early College Academy (FCECA) is a districtwide program that is available for juniors and seniors who meet the rigorous requirements. FCECA is housed on the campus of Big Sandy Community and Technical College in Prestonsburg, allowing students more of a college experience, but the Floyd County Schools District oversees the program implementation. The FCECA’s goals include encouraging more high school students to continue postsecondary education and obtain a degree, to support more students in pursuit of degrees/careers in the shortage areas of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM), and to increase the rigor of courses and instruction for academically talented students through the establishment of a focused program.

This year 99 students have graduated from the FCECA with Associates degrees and high school diplomas and 23 students will have graduated with 30 or more college hours each.


Adkins concludes, “Please join us in congratulating these seniors.”


Betsy Layne High School    
Nathan Akers, AS  
Ashley Allen, AS   
Joshua Hall, AS  

Floyd Central High School     
Josh Artrip, AS    
Cole DeRossett, AS/AA  
Seth Dingus, AS   
Kaylie Edwards, AS
Jacob Johnson, AA  
Natalie Lester, AA
Breanna Little, AS/AA
Jacob Morris, AS
Devin Parsley, AA

Prestonsburg High School

Caitlyn Goble, AS
Caleb Johnson, AA
Barbara Morrison, AA
McKinley Smith, AS
Hannah Thornsberry, AS
Emily West, AS



/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */