2019 Regional Elementary Governor's Cup

2019 Regional Elementary Governor's Cup
Posted on 03/07/2019
This is the image for the news article titled 2019 Regional Elementary Governor's Cup

Superintendent Adkins announces Region 34 Elementary Governor’s Cup competition results. Students competed in Composition and Future Problem Solving on February 25 while written assessment and Quick Recall competition took place Saturday, March 2. Betsy Layne Elementary hosted all events.


Adkins comments, “Congratulations May Valley Elementary! First overall, first in FPS and first in Quick Recall! Congratulations Prestonsburg Elementary! First in FPS and second overall and in Quick Recall! Congratulations to all our students who placed individually! We’re proud of you and excited to see Floyd County students take the majority of the top spots! Congratulations Braxton Howard (MVES), Chloe Kilgore (PES) and Amelia Gilbert (PES) on being TOP 10 in Kentucky! What an accomplishment!”


Commenting on the success of the participants, Adkins says, “We commend these students and coaches for the time and effort they’ve put into preparing for competition. Lastly, we appreciate the parents and family members who have done everything from transporting students to running buzzer systems. Without them, these kids and programs would not be as successful. We appreciate all their support.”  


The Kentucky Association for Academic Competition (KAAC) is the governing body for this competition and regional is the highest level for elementary students. Region 34 consists of Allen ES, Betsy Layne ES, Duff-Allen Central ES, John M. Stumbo ES, May Valley ES, Prestonsburg ES,  South Floyd ES, Beaver Creek ES, Carr Creek ES,  Cordia ES,  Emmalena ES,  Hindman ES, Jones Fork ES, June Buchanan ES.



Region 34 Elementary





Final Overall

Future Problem Solving

Quick Recall

1st May Valley ES

1st May Valley ES

1st May Valley ES

2nd Prestonsburg ES

1st Prestonsburg ES

2nd Prestonsburg ES

3rd Allen Elementary

3rd South Floyd ES










1st Luke Hall AES

1st Ally Hamilton PES

1st Braxton Howard MVES

1st Braxton Howard MVES

2nd Jackson Hall MVES

3rd Noah Watts JMS

3rd Luke Hall AES

1st Chloe Kilgore PES

5th Alivia Hamilton JMS

5th Isaac Stewart PES

4th Bryson Patton AES

1st Amelia Gilbert PES




4th Kyrie Barnette MVES




5th McKenzie Mullins SFES

1st Allie Hamilton BLES

1st Ally Hamilton PES


5th Allie Hamilton BLES

1st Ava Bailey MVES

2nd Kylie Walters MVES


5th Reagan Laferty MVES

4th Maddie Rowland PES

4th Tessa Spencer DACE



5th Taegan Stewart SFES

5th Sofiya Cook SFES



Regional Governor's Cup Champions: May Valley Elementary

  Regional Governor's Cup Runner Up: Prestonsburg Elementary

/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */