Congratulations to our 2017 Governor's Scholars!

Congratulations to our 2017 Governor's Scholars!
Posted on 04/17/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Congratulations to our 2017 Governor's Scholars!

Superintendent Henry Webb is pleased to announce the Floyd County students who have been selected for the Kentucky Governor’s Scholar Program, an enhanced summer learning program for students going into their senior year of high school. Along with an incredible experience, students receive scholarships that average more than $60,000, depending on the college/university the student selects.


The students selected are:


  • Dawson Stephens, Allen Central High School
  • Jason Blake Warrens, Allen Central High School
  • Joseph Meade, Betsy Layne High School
  • Allison Paige Lemaster, Prestonsburg High School
  • William Patton, Prestonsburg High School
  • Cameron Howell, South Floyd High School


The process for selection as a Governor’s Scholar is detailed and competitive. Along with a written essay, students are judged on the quality of their grades and test scores. Our best applicants then compete with students from across Kentucky.


Dr. Webb commented, “Congratulations Dawson, Blake, Joseph, Paige, William and Cameron! We’re very proud of these young ladies and gentlemen and are excited about the amazing opportunities they will have during this program and beyond.”


Webb reminded everyone, “If your child is in middle school or a freshman and has good grades and test scores, we encourage you to find out more about the Governor’s Scholar Program. It’s very competitive and knowing the requirements early can help kids be more prepared when they apply during 10th grade. Compiling your activities, volunteer hours and community service and so forth can also help when applying for scholarships. Please visit the website or call one of our high school counselors for more information.”


 For more information on the program, please visit
/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */