Head Start Exceptional Classrooms

Head Start Exceptional Classrooms
Posted on 03/28/2017
This is the image for the news article titled Head Start Exceptional Classrooms

Superintendent Dr. Henry Webb is pleased to announce that five Floyd County Head Start classrooms have received district and regional recognition for being exceptional classrooms.


Dr. Webb comments, “The board team and I talk a lot about striving to be a district of excellence for KIDS. That’s a challenging task and that’s one of the reasons we’re so proud of these Early Childhood teams who are working together to give KIDS an excellent start to their educations with Floyd County Schools. These teams are made up of teachers, teacher assistants, family service workers and the education consultant for the classroom. Classrooms at May Valley, Betsy Layne, Allen and McDowell have been recognized as being top in our district and region. Of the sixty-four classrooms in our five county region, these teams rank in the top fifteen!”

Webb concluded, “We know that this doesn’t happen overnight or in the span of a month and we want to thank them for the job they are doing for our KIDS every day.”

 Ranked #1 Team in the region: Ashley Fite, Stacy Paige, Jennifer Woods, Kim Grubb, Shonna Hall, Teresa Newsome & Deanna Watts from May Valley Elementary. (Pictured at top).


Ranked #2 Team in the region: April Borowski, Brittany Hancock-Tackett, Kim Grubb, Teresa Campbell, Teresa Newsome, and Makayla Skeens from Betsy Layne Elementary.

TIE Ranked # 7 in the region: Tammy Gearheart, Jessica Partin, Kim Grubb, Teresa Campbell, Ealita Stumbo, Teresa Newsome from Allen Elementary.


TIE Ranked #7 in the region: Jessica Kiser, Mika Hackworth, Teresa Campbell, Kim Grubb, Teresa Newsome, and Sheylia Porter from Allen Elementary.


Ranked #14 in the region: Debbie Gibson, Mary Hughes-Bentley, Kim Grubb, Rhonda Newman, Teresa Newsome from McDowell Elementary.


/* Hide sub-nav-group span texts */